Banana Bread Breakfast Muffins

Standard

Who doesn’t love banana bread? Who doesn’t love muffins? Freaks. That’s who. Just kidding, I hated bananas until about four months ago. But that’s getting besides the point. So for Father’s day last Sunday, in the midst of finals, I had the urge to bake. Because I hadn’t made anything since mid May. It was a long, painful time. I went almost a month! What even?! I finally cracked, and as I said, it happened on 7 AM last Sunday morning. I woke up. I needed the kitchen.

But what to make? I mean, I’m the type of person who loves breakfast foods, but I like healthy breakfast foods. I’m not one for pancakes or waffles or cakes and such. It’s too rich. Plus, I go the rest of the day feeling overly- sugared. So what is the answer?

Muffins, that’s the answer. Because they are extremely easy to slim down. So for these, I was again inspired by Chocolate Covered Katie, and decided to put a spin on her Banana Bread Breakfast Doughnuts. As you can see, one thing that I changed is I made doughnuts into muffins due to the fact that I do not have a doughnut tin. Yes, there is such a thing. No, I was not aware until discovering this recipe.

So. Without further ado, Ingredients:

-2 cups flour (I used whole wheat)

-1 tsp baking soda

-1/2 tsp cinnamon

-3/4 tsp baking powder

-3/4 tsp salt

-1/4 cup oil, plus 2 tbsp milk of choice (or just use all milk to lower the calorie count and fat)

-1 and 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract

-1 and 1/2 tbsp lemon juice

-1 Tbs Truvia, or 3 Tbs if you used sugar free maple syrup

-1/2 cup of maple or agave syrup, or sugar free maple syrup. Note that if you use sugar free maple syrup, use 3 tbs of Truvia or another type of sweetener.

-2 cups tightly-packed, mashed banana (measured after mashing)

-whatever toppings your heart desires (I used 4-5 chocolate chips/ muffin)

How to:

Preheat oven to 350 F. Put cupcake liners into I think 24 muffin tins. Mix the dry ingredients together and set aside. In a separate bowl, combine wet ingredients. Now, dump the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix by hand. The batter should be JUST mixed. Try not to over-mix. Spoon the batter into the muffin tins so each one is 3/4 full. Cook 30-35 minutes. Let cool, and then enjoy with some nice coffee :) or, freeze them for later enjoyment, and pop em in the microwave when you want.

Image

nutrition:

Image

note that these are these values are calculated with 1/4+ 2tbs of almond milk (no oil) and without chocolate chips. If you add the chocolate chips, I’d say bump it up to about 75 calories per muffin.

Original Recipe:

http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2012/02/22/banana-bread-breakfast-doughnuts/

Leave a Reply

