Chocolate Chip Biscotti

Standard

Ciao to all!

So. We all know that the country that is the king of food is ITALIA. I love italy. Literally the most amazing place in the world. The first time I went, it was with my local youth symphony. It was an amazing experience; I made the most incredible friends and went to the most incredible places. The second time, I went with my family. My mom, dad, and grandparents. My grandfather is Italian, and he really wanted me to meet my family in Italy. There are a ton of other factors that go into it (like, a lot) but the gist is we ended up going in October to Southern Italy, called Calabria. It was great seeing all of my relatives and putting bits of conversation together with my kind-of Italian and their kind-of English. So many relatives. So many people. But it was lovely. One thing about the Italians is that they keep. Bringing. Out. Plate after plate. l’antipasto, il primo (pasta) il secondo (meat) il contorno (side dish) i dolci (pastries!) la frutta (fruit) l’espresso (shot of espresso) i digistivi (shot of liquor). So so much. But it just makes you fall in love with Italian food, and italians themselves. ANYWAYS yeah biscotti!

So I came up with this recipe by accidentally starting one recipe, realizing I didn’t have the ingredients, then continuing with another. But it turned out aiight!

Chocolate Chip Biscotti- Adapted from Cookie Swap

Ingredients:

-2 cups all purpose flour

-1 cup white sugar

-1/2 tsp baking powder

-1/4 tsp salt

-6 tsp of unsalted butter, at room temp

-2 large eggs

-1 tsp vanilla extract

-1 1/2-2 cups of mini or regular sized chocolate chips

Procedure:

Preheat oven to 350 F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl. Set aside. In a separate bowl, beat the sugar and butter until fluffy, could be anywhere from 1-3 minutes. Add the eggs and the vanilla and beat until smooth. Don’t worry if it’s grainy, it’s supposed to be like that. Because then you add the flour (beat on low so you don’t get flour in the face) and it turns into a nice doughy mixture. Beat in the chocolate chips.

Now what you do is you turn the dough onto a lightly floured surface. Divide it in half. Form two 16 inch long by 2 1/2 inch wide logs. Or whatever size/width you want. But, it needs to be in a log-shape form because that’s what will give it it’s biscotti shape. Now, place the logs on the baking sheet, several inches apart (or as the cookbook suggests, you could always freeze it as the logs for later use). Bake the logs until they are firm to the touch, 30-35 minutes. Remove from the oven to a wire rack and let them COOL COMPLETELY. Now, reduce the oven temp to 325 F. Transfer the logs to a cutting board and cut them widthwise into 3/4-1 inch slices. Now, lay the slices cut side down on the baking sheet. Bake the cookies again until crisp, about 8-12 minutes. Transfer to wire rack and let the cool completely. Enjoy them for a breakfast with coffee, or as dessert 🙂 Image

2 responses »

  1. Ah I’ve been to Italy TWICE to live for a shorter period of time (in terms of a few months), and it was amazing. I can’t believe I didn’t gain MORE weight than I did, as I ate everything! I’m jealous you’ve been to southern Italy – the one region I haven’t been able to explore (yet). I was mostly in Northern Italy…and Tuscany. The cuisine varies so much! I’m totally going to try out this biscotti recipe – hard to find a good quality one around here (I’m from a small city in Canada). Would you go back to Italy? What was your favourite thing to eat there? Sorry for all the commentary, I just get so excited to talk about this country!

  2. No problem, I love talking about Italy too! I’m definitely hoping to go back to Italy; in college I would like to minor in Italian language and hopefully do a semester abroad in Florence or Bologna. The cuisine does vary! In the south it tends to be more with olive oil, north more with butter because they’re right by Germany. Southern Italy in general is also just more rolling hills and farms and such. My favorite food…besides gelato? The best thing I had with my relatives was this wonderful fried eggplant, and eggplant stuffed with bread crumbs, cheese, and tomato sauce. Or eggplant in general. They did so much with it. And all of it was amazing. Let me know how it goes if you make the biscotti! 🙂

Leave a Reply

