Healthy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Standard

IMG_3199

So my mom isn’t really thrilled about how I like to bake healthy things. She doesn’t eat healthy desserts. But. She LOVES oatmeal raisin cookies. So I figured ya know what I’ll make some oatmeal raisin cookies because well, late night baking is kinda my thing. So I searched for a recipe on Food Network and the first one that popped up were Ellie Krierger’s Honey Oatmeal-Raisin Cookies. I didn’t even realize they were healthy until I read the recipe and saw there were macros at the bottom! But they wereeeee. And they seemed yummy. So I made them, with a few minor tweaks, and voila! They turned out very yummy! Then I gave one to my mom. She really liked them! Then I told her “oh yeah and they’re healthy!” And she immediately gave me the death glare. “I mean…they were alriiiight.” She said. Oh please, mother, you loved those cookies.

Anyways, so the recipe is as I said from Ellie Krieger from Food Network. So:

Ingredients:

  • Cooking spray, like Pam Nonstick Baking Spray
  • 2 tbs unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/4 cup smooth almond butter
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup almond milk (although I think regular dairy milk would work too)
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 3/4 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup raisins

Assembly:

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Spray two baking sheets.

IMG_3196

Mix the whole wheat flour, cinnamon, salt, and baking soda in a bowl. Set aside. Plop the butter, canola oil, honey, egg, almond butter, and vanilla in a bowl and mix together until smooth. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture, and mix until smooth. Add the milk, and mix again until smooth. Mix in the rolled oats and raisins. Once everything is distributed evenly throughout the batter, spoon onto the cookie sheets. I was able to fit 12 on a 10×15 inch cookie sheet. In total, I was able to make 42 cookies. So once you spoon these out, bake for about 8 minutes, or until the edges look just slightly brown. Let cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes then transfer to wire rack to cool completely. Enjoy as breakfast, dessert, or a sweet snack 🙂

IMG_3200 Screen Shot 2013-06-25 at 10.48.41 PM *click to enlarge*

Leave a Reply

