Kale Chips

Standard

So my best friend’s mom introduced me to these (or rather, the idea of these). I was over at her house working and she was like “oh here are some kale chips” and in my head I’m like “what the heck is kale?” Turns out, it’s a rather awesome green that has some great uses when cooked. In this case, it was a substitute for potato chips. And the recipe is SO EASY.

Ingredients:

  • 1 rinsed head of kale. Make sure it’s dried all the way before using!
  • 2-3 tbs olive oil
  • spices! I personally used some salt, ground pepper, and cumin.

Directions:

IMG_3231

Preheat the oven to 275 F. After the kale has dried completely, remove the ribs of it and rip it into about 1.5 inch pieces. Don’t do any smaller than that, because otherwise it’ll burn to a crisp. And not in the good way.

IMG_3232

Spread the pieces out on a good ol’ baking sheet and toss with the olive oil and spices. One thing I learned is that 2-3 tbs may not seem like a lot, but it is. If you use too much, then the kale will take FOREVER to roast….trust me on that one. Finally, roast the kale for 20 minutes, turning it halfway through. Honestly, it may take more or less time. Just keep a close eye on it to make sure it doesn’t burn black. After 20 minutes, I checked it at 5 minute intervals until it was done. Eventually, it all turned out, and I got out of it a wonderful little healthy snack for a dinner party 🙂

Screen Shot 2013-06-29 at 10.45.58 PM

 

omnomnomnom

 

Leave a Reply

