Happy Healthy Huge Cookies

Standard

Screen Shot 2013-08-24 at 5.05.38 PM

I’m happy.

Do you want to know why? I’ll tell you.

My mother made guacamole. That’s not what you were expecting, huh. Well it’s true that as I am writing this I am sitting in my kitchen with the bowl she made it in and a spatula, spooning off the leftover guac as a late afternoon snack. Think that’s gross? I don’t care. I love guac almost as much as I love chocolate.

Almost.

Screen Shot 2013-08-24 at 5.06.07 PM

I’m also super thrilled about my newest creation, adapted from http://www.healthfulpursuit.com. It’s a cookie, but not my typical chocolate filled artery clogging cookie recipe. No, no. It’s a healthy cookie. YES. It has been done. I was actually tasting the batter and I was thinking “oh dear I don’t know if these will work out…” but they DID and they are AWESOME. As previously mentioned, I found the recipe for “Runner Repair Cookies” on Leanne Vogel’s healthy food blog, healthful pursuit. I decided to make them because I had almost all of the ingredients needed, and with school starting up soon, I usually get hungry around 10am-ish for a snack. These cookies literally taste like a pumpkin muffin, and I didn’t even use that much pumpkin! It’s the perfect balance of sweetness, with a light cakey texture with chunks of pepitas and cranberries. The protein powder, almond butter and chia seeds also bring a much-desired nutritional aspect to the the table (or rather, to the desk): protein! Then of course, being a coconut lover, I included some flaked coconut on top.

Let’s get to it!

Ingredients-

  • 1/2 banana
  • 2 eggs
  • 6 dates, pitted
  • 1/2 cup nut butter
  • 1/2 protein powder
  • 2 tbs pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 oz pepitas (pumpkin seeds)
  • 1/4 cup cranberries
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbs ground chia
  • 2 tbs no sugar maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • optional: flaked coconut for garnish

Procedure:

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Blend the banana, eggs, and dates in a food processor until dates are thoroughly chopped. Transfer to bowl.

Stir in everything else, except for the optional coconut.

Screen Shot 2013-08-24 at 5.05.19 PM

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicon baking sheet. Scoop the cookies out onto the baking sheet, probably 6 or 7 per pan. Garnish with coconut. I did these dudes in two rounds because I only had one silicon baking mat and was too lazy to butter another pan. Stick them in the oven for 6-8 minutes, or until a knife inserted in the middle of a cookie comes out with moist crumbs attached. Let cool on pan for a couple minutes, then transfer to wire rack to cool completely.

Enjoy! Nutrition facts are below 🙂

Screen Shot 2013-08-24 at 5.05.56 PM   Screen Shot 2013-08-24 at 4.33.06 PM

 

Here is Leanne’s original recipe for her version of these cookies as seen on her blog-

http://www.healthfulpursuit.com/2011/02/runners-repair-cookies/

Leave a Reply

