Semi-homemade Tortilla Chips

Standard

So.

I hate wasting food. You use your money to buy it, why would you throw your money away (or in this case, my parents’ money away. As a high-school girl, my income is nonexistent)? So when I see some old whole wheat tortillas lying around in my fridge, I was annoyed. I never eat tortillas unless it’s with my mom’s green chili. (And when I say “old,” I don’t mean old. I mean I bought them a couple of weeks ago for quesadillas and something and we still have them. They were completely edible. Trust me). POINT IS I wasn’t going to use them for anything else.

So what do I do? Tortilla chips, specially tailored to your liking! It’s so easy to do; and really, who doesn’t like some freshly baked chips? Still warm…smothered with cheese….

Okay so here’s whatcha do:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 F.
  2. Cut up as many tortillas as you want in irregular shapes.
  3. Dap VERY LIGHTLY with olive oil. I actually used my fingers to kinda brush it on.
  4. Sprinkle with salt, creole seasoning, really whatever type flavor chips you want. I bet if you sprinkled some brown sugar and cinnamon on there and brushed them with butter instead of olive oil that’d be really yummy too.
  5. Bake for about 10 minutes. I checked mine at about 7 minutes then checked them frequently after that until they were done. They are done when they are lightly browned (a little bit more). Some may still be a little soft in the middle, but they’ll crisp up when you take them out of the oven and let em sit for a while.
  6. Enjoy with salsa, cheese, or maybe ice cream if you do the sweet version 😉

IMG_3863    IMG_3866

Leave a Reply

