Mom’s Favorite Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

Standard

Screen Shot 2013-11-29 at 6.25.25 PM

My dear, dear blog. Oh, how I have missed it. Oh, how I have missed cooking and baking! I have had basically no time to do the very thing that always makes me happy: cook. Junior year has been insane. Exhausting beyond imagine. And joy: it’s only the second quarter. And senior fall is supposedly the worst thing ever. Up until today at about 4 pm, all that was on my mind was workworkworkwork. And next week is going to be even more stressful. Sadness.

Screen Shot 2013-11-29 at 6.25.55 PM

The only split second in the grand scheme of the past few weeks where I had to bake was when I made cookies for my team. They were quick, easy slice cookies. And they were amazing. The one in this post was actually the better of the two (probably just because peanut butter is my drug of choice). Funny thing actually. At the little team get-together, I forgot to actually make sure the cookies were put on the table….soooo not many people at them. That’s okay though, because my mom happens to really REALLY like them. She was happy.

Screen Shot 2013-11-29 at 6.25.34 PM

So, if you love peanut butter, make these cookies. They are amazing. I got this recipe from the blog Once A Month Meals. I’ll post the link to the original recipe down at the bottom.

Chewy Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies from Once A Month Meals

Ingredients!

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup peanut butter (I used Trader Joe’s All Natural smooth unsalted peanut butter. You wouldn’t expect it to work in baking. But it worked so, so well).
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup quick cooking oats

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

Combine the flour, baking soda, salt, and oats. Set aside.

In a separate bowl, cream the butter, sugars, and peanut butter. Add in the eggs, and beat until well blended. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture. Add oats and mix. Drop by the spoonful onto ungreased cookie sheets, about 2 inches apart. Bake for 10 minutes, or until lightly browned.

If you want to freeze them (which you can totally do- I did that), let them cool completely before popping ’em in the ziplock bags and sticking them in the freezer.

This makes about 3.5 dozen cookies 🙂

Enjoy!

http://onceamonthmeals.com/oatmeal-peanut-butter-cookie/

One response »

  1. Pingback: Dark Chocolate Crackle Cookies | neeksnotes

Leave a Reply

